đź—ş The best solo female travel newsletter right here

đź—ş The best solo female travel newsletter right here

We empower women through solo travel.

This email is a sneak peek into our VIP membership exclusive weekly email. If you like it, you will be able to sign up for more when we open again for new members! For now, just enjoy.

 Off The Beaten Path: Massive Shrooms 

This is a very big mushroom, but only a small part of nearly 4 square miles of honey fungus in the Malheur National Forest in Oregon, USA. The reason these shrooms are on my travel bucket list is because they're one the world's largest single organisms. SINGLE ORGANISM. That's right, these shrooms are all basically appendages of one living thing, estimated to be 2,400 years old. That kinda stuff gives me chills.

Travel Etiquette: Feet 

It’s most likely been awhile since you’ve been on a plane, so let’s do a quick refresher on what not to do while traveling by big metal tube.

  • You usually hear about how you shouldn’t kick the seat in front of you. Well, I’m changing it up — I’m tall and sometimes while shifting the cross of my legs, I accidentally bump the seat in front of me. Please do not turn around and sigh loudly. If I keep my legs in the same position all flight, I’ll get a blood clot, go into cardiac arrest and ground the plane in a flyover state. No one wants that.

  • This should go without saying (yet somehow it still happens), if you want to kick off your shoes, for Buddha's sake, bring socks with you and keep your feet below eye level. P.S. I totally snagged this photo from a NY Post article. You just can't make this stuff up!

Discounts and Free Stuff (New!) 

I am planning an epic 2021… because I deserve it. We all do. For me, that means lots of travel. And I'm going to be doing something I wouldn't normally be so keen on: group tours. After all this stress, I want someone else to worry about logistics and let me sip wine on that rooftop in Marrakech in peace. 

I asked the boss, and she is letting me try this section out. I love giving stuff away (especially when someone else is paying for it

 $200 off any tour Expires January 11, 2021 | Use the code: GiftsFromBailey 

P.S. Just so you know, if you do sign up, your deposit is totally transferrable to new dates or a new country with no expiration. See more on the website, they explain it better. 

Travel Better 

There is now a beaming light at the end of the COVID tunnel with vaccinations beginning around the world. But we're still in various forms of lockdown as coronavirus cases spike this winter, so might I suggest, taking this time to travel from home (TFH, you know, like work from home, WFH - trademarking that).It might sound lame at first, but I spent two months this summer, “driving” through nearly 30 countries using Google Street View (you can check out the videos here). The experience was surreal. Never before have I felt so small, has the world seemed so big, did I really understand the breadth and depth of the Earth. More so, even, than any physical trip I’ve taken even. 

One of my favorite places - Kazakhstan. Check out some of the breathtaking natural beauty of the country and hear from a local about what makes the country so special. I have written a guide on exploring the world with Google Street View, which I'll send to you in next email!

Entertainment 

Sad? Funny? I'm not even sure anymore.